Rangoon Music Review and Soundtrack- Vishal Bhardwaj does what he does best!
Rangoon Music Review and Soundtrack- Vishal Bhardwaj does what he does best!

The complete jukebox of Rangoon is out and the director Vishal Bhardwaj has once again taken the reins of giving music to his own movies. The album is quite long with a total of twelve songs and here is our Rangoon music review-

1. Bloody Hell

Gulzar surely took his share of time when he was writing down the ‘Hinglish’ lyrics of Bloody Hell. Sunidhi Chauhan does an excellent job in turning these lyrics into a song that is full of energy. The song suits Kangana Ranaut’s character in the movie, Julia, the heroine with a large fan-following.

2. Yeh Ishq Hai

Arijit Singh is the heart and soul of this head-over-heels romantic number. While Arijit gives his voice to the song, we cannot take the credit away from the simple yet mesmerizing lyrics penned by Gulzar. Vishal’s music is the cherry on the top. This is undoubtedly my most favorite number from the complete album.

3. Mere Miyan Gaye England

Rekha Bhardwaj has given her voice to this dance number. The quirky lyrics by Gulzar are the major highlights of this song. This song is a gentle reminder of the hit song ‘Mere Piya Gaye Rangoon’ and it fits aptly with the movie’s storyline. I loved the not-so-subtle references to Hitler and Churchill.

4. Tippa

Vishal Bhardwaj proves his brilliance yet again with the next song titled as ‘Tippa’. With a list of ensemble singers like Sukhwinder Singh, Rekha Bhardwaj, Sunidhi Chauhan, O.S. Arun, Gulzar‘s lyrics and Vishal’s music gives equal opportunity to them all to give out their best. The lyrics are meaningful and the tone is just so playful. One of the best collaborations of such big names you will have heard in recent times.

5. Ek Dooni Do

The album brings a Latino twist with Ek Dooni Do. Rekha Bhardwaj leads the songs with her lovely voice and this song is a classic example of Vishal’s chemistry with wifey. Vishal makes use of Rekha’s variations in an amazing manner with this catchy number penned by Gulzar.

6. Alvida

After hearing these fast-paced songs, we get a change of pace with Arijit Singh‘s sad rendition of Alvida. His voice and Gulzar‘s touching lyrics are the winners here. Vishal lets them take the song forward and uses very less number of instruments. This is another masterpiece from the album and if you hear it with your eyes closed, you will float away with the song.

7. Julia

This song is dedicated to Kangana’s character Julia and going with the movie’s time period, it succeeds in taking you all the way back to the 40’s. Sukhwinder Singh, K.K., Kunal Ganjawalla and Vishal Bhardwaj have taken the mike for this number. It starts out with a slow pace but it takes a more playful turn later on.

8. Chori Chori

Chori Chori brings back the playful tones and Vishal brings Rekha Bhardwaj back for this one. The tune is retro and this short track will make for a good listen when are in a leisurely mood.

9. Yeh Ishq Hai (Female Version)

The female version of Yeh Ishq Hai has been sung by Rekha Bhardwaj and she gives a whole new angle to the romantic number. This version has a clear hint of Sufiness instigated and Rekha’s distinctive voice gives this version a different identity of its own.

10. Rangoon Theme

This instrumental theme is clearly influenced by Japanese music and Vishal Bhardwaj uses it to his won advantage. It is very pensive and captivating.

11. Be Still

Dominique Cerejo takes up the mike for this slow-paced relaxing number. Vishal’s music and Lekha Washington‘s lyrics are so soothing and relaxing. It’s the perfect jazz you can out on when you are planning on spending a romantic evening with your partner.

12. Shimmy Shake

The last number of the track is Shimmy Shake sung by Vivienne Pocha. This song is a classic rock ‘n’ roll track that will make you want to get on the dance floor. The lyrics have been written by Lekha Washington.

Here is the complete soundtrack-

Rangoon Music Review and Soundtrack: Our Final Verdict- Vishal Bhardwaj has always been a man with the ability to narrate a story with just the music. With Rangoon, he has yet again proven his prowess. Mind you, this album is not everyone. It is meant for music lovers who know how to find the depth in songs. Though if you listen closely, you will fall in love with the songs eventually. Our pick of the lot are Yeh Ishq Hai, Alvida, Yeh Ishq Hai (Female Version) and Be Still.

Our Rating- 3.5 Stars

Rangoon stars Shahid Kapoor, Saif Ali Khan and Kangana Ranaut. The movie is scheduled to release on 24 Feb 2017.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.